Artist interviews · Soloists

INTERVIEW WITH JOE GAUTREY ON NEW SINGLE ‘HIT THE GROUND’

Hi Joe, Thank you for talking to us today, how are you?

I am great thank you! New single is out so couldn’t be happier right now.

For people who don’t know tell us about yourself?

I am a 23 year old music producer / artist based in London. I would describe my style as guitar tinged pop with more of a chill vibe to it going forward in 2020. I try to write songs which people can relate to because that is what music is about in my opinion.

Let’s talk about your new single ‘hit the ground’ , which was released on the 24th July, what was the inspiration behind the song?

I was inspired by the people around me I love most suffering with anxiety and their views and struggles with it as well as my own in the past. I wanted to write a song that reaches out to people who may be struggling or down with emotions and feelings that they can’t explain and get them to feel that maybe think for a second they aren’t alone. Because the truth is no one should have to feel alone, and that’s the message of this song. Stay strong.

Can you tell me a bit about the recording/writing process and what do you enjoy the most out of the two?

It is a bit of both really. Each song I make is made in a different way as sometimes you make the production then write over the top or the other way for a different song. This time round the lyrics are what popped into my head first one night when a dear friend of mine was sharing his personal struggles. The next day I picked up my guitar and the song came around in about 5 minutes. Its always nice when it happens so effortlessly as that’s not always the case. 

What’s one of your favourite lyrics from the song?

‘I maybe young, but feeling old, Another day to drain my soul, all the answers hard to seek’

These lyrics I feel relate to anyone getting past their teens and suddenly needing to get a job, pay rent and get their life together. The world is such a big scary place and it can catch you unprepared. You kid yourself that you are still young at 23 but you’ve got all this responsibility and it can get to you. Make you think your fun years are behind you and that’s it. You’re now part of the system. This is something that mentally effected me the past year and it was hard to find answers on how to feel good about life. So I did what any creative would do. Write about it. It made me so happy to hear that other people who have heard the song are in the same boat. Really goes to show you aren’t alone in the world.

What would you like people to take away from the song when they’ve listened/are listening to it?

However they are feeling. You don’t have to have an explanation for it on the spot. Mental Health awareness has come on so much and I am just trying to continue the movement. The message of the song is stay strong, you are not alone.

How long did it take you to write/record this song?

5-10 minutes. Doesn’t happen with every song I write but this one was a treat in how easy it came to me.

Why did you decide to call this single ‘hit the ground’?

The song is a metaphor for how much someone can take before it comes to much and crash. You can feel like you are falling and feel nothing can stop you falling to the ground when if you look at the bigger picture, you still have time to pull your parachute. My parachute has always been my friends. And my dog haha

What has your fans reactions been to the song?

Its been amazing. They are so good to me! The thing that has been most humbling is how many people have messaged me saying they can relate to the song. Thats what I wrote the song for so that makes me so so happy. 

What’s your favourite thing about releasing a single?

The excitement and nervous of the first day. Will it do well? Will it flop? Its great fun to watch unfold. 

How do you prepare for the release of a new single?

Boring stuff like marketing strategies. creating content is fun though. Especially when you get to share first teasers to your audience!

Have you got any shows in the works at the moment?

Due to COVID not at the moment but that’s something I am looking into. Got a lot of places I have been asked to play so can’t let the people who support me down haha

Dream place to perform?

 Shepherds Bush London 100%. Love that venue

What are your 2020/2021 plans?

This song is the start of a new direction for me. Expect more singles and something else towards the end of the year.

Thank you to Joe for talking to me today, i love the new single and the message behind ‘hit the ground’

Listen to it here:

Tweet him:

Instagram:

Leave a comment